Bishops Castle Cricket Club was officially formed in 1896 at a meeting held in the Six Bells Public House, cricket was first recorded in the area in 1841 with a game between Bishops Castle and Kerry (from just over the Welsh Border).
The Club has played from various sites within the area, including Love Lane and Oak Meadow, but has resided permanently at the Manor Ground, Lydham Manor (by kind permission of the Sykes family) since the Club restarted after the 2nd World War in 1946, the Club then played Saturday and Sunday friendlies with many Touring sides visiting, some of whom still do, until in 1993 the Club ventured into the realms of League Cricket, joining and winning at the 1st attempt, Division 5 of the Shropshire League.
Bishops Castle Cricket Club is an ECB Focus Club and is also Clubmark accredited, we provide an extensive Coaching setup for children from Primary School age to 16.
The club now runs 2 Saturday XI's, the 1st XI in Division 2 (since 2001) and the 2nd XI in Reserve Division 3, as well as several Junior teams. We also still play regular friendlies on Sundays, mainly at Home because the opposition seem to like the picturesque surroundings of our wonderfully sited ground.
The Club have their own website @ bishopscastlecc.intheteam.com
Pictured below is Henry Hunter from our main sponsor, The Castle Hotel, being presented with a Club polo shirt by the Secretary Simon Palmer. We are also grateful to our New Shirt Sponsor CMYUK and also for continued sponsorship from the Three Tuns Brewery and M & J Travel.